Aberdeenshire Council Named as Transport Authority of the Year

>> 21 June 2016

Chairman of Aberdeenshire Council’s Infrastructure Services Committee Cllr David Aitchison has said winning the title of Transport Authority of the Year for the fourth time is a credit to the council staff involved.

Aberdeenshire Council won the prestigious title of Transport Authority of the Year at the 2016 Scottish Transport Awards last week. A previous winner of the accolade in 2008, 2009 and 2012, it is the first local authority to win the title on four occasions.

The council was shortlisted in an additional four categories and these projects were all recognised in the winning submission for Transport Authority of the Year.

Aberdeenshire’s Integrated Travel Towns (ITT) project is aimed at increasing the proportion of travel undertaken by sustainable modes. In Ellon, improvements included the construction of a new foot and cycle bridge across the River Ythan and upgrading the path along the north bank, providing a safe route to the new Academy from the town centre.

A real time passenger information system for bus services went live in January 2016. The system provides live departure times, allowing customers to make more informed travel choices at the various stages of their journey.

During the aftermath of Storm Frank in December 2015 and January 2016, front line Transportation service employees provided emergency transport in challenging conditions to assist with evacuation of affected communities. They also helped maintain a link between Braemar and the rest of Aberdeenshire during the closure of Invercauld Bridge and the A93 at Micras.

The council's engagement with customers through regular Area Bus Forums and through the annual Bus Passenger Satisfaction Survey was also evidence that customers are at the heart of what the team does.

Efforts of road maintenance teams also ensure it is consistently among the top rated councils in the Scottish Road Maintenance Condition Survey, highlighting that the operational aspects of the council's activities are held in as high regard as the project-based activities.

Aberdeenshire's role in administering the successful Grasshopper multi-operator bus pass also demonstrates what can be achieved by working in partnership with other public sector bodies and partners in the private sector.

These are just some examples of the excellent transportation work being carried out by the council which contributed toward the awards success.

Chairman of the council’s Infrastructure Services Committee (ISC), Cllr David Aitchison, said:

"It is extremely satisfying to see Aberdeenshire again being recognised at the Scottish Transport Awards.

“These awards showcase best practice from across the country and it is a credit to everyone involved to have won this award for the fourth time, highlighting the efforts being made to improve local transport every day.”

ISC vice chair, Cllr Stephen Smith, added:

"To be shortlisted for five categories at this year’s Scottish Transport Awards highlights that Aberdeenshire Council is leading the way in a variety of transportation projects.

“Winning Transport Authority of the Year again demonstrates the council is succeeding in meeting its vision of being the very best of Scotland and I thank all our Transportation staff for helping to make it so.”

Post a Comment

Article Archive (click on down arrow)

The editors of this web site do not gather,
use or retain any cookie data.
fios ZS is a name registered in Scotland for Stewart Stevenson
© 2008-2021
Scottish National Party

Contact admin @
for permission to use material from here
There is no cost to the public purse arising from the preparation and publishing of this web site which is hosted without charge by

  © Blogger template Werd by 2009

Back to TOP