Peterhead Volunteers Selected By Councillor For Recognition By Provost

>> 3 July 2011

Two Peterhead residents were honoured at this year’s Aberdeenshire Council reception to pay tribute to volunteers and their good works.

Officer in Charge of Peterhead Sea Cadets John Bowman and Light-Up Peterhead Chairperson Cath Agnew were nominated by Peterhead South SNP councillor Stephen Smith for recognition by Aberdeenshire Provost Bill Howatson at the annual event.

Stephen Smith, John Bowman, Bill Howatson
John joined Peterhead Sea Cadets in 1993 aged 10 as part of the first-ever intake of junior cadets and was appointed Officer-in-Charge last year, the youngest ever.

During 2010 Peterhead Sea Cadets were awarded the Stephenson Trophy for being Top Unit in Scotland, Northern Ireland & Northern England; the Thomas Grey Memorial Trophy for runner-up to the Top Unit in the UK.

Peterhead Sea Cadets is run entirely on the support from the local community and staffed by adult volunteers.

Stephen Smith, Cath Agnew, Bill Howatson
Cath is Chairperson of ‘Light-Up Peterhead’ Committee, which organised the town’s Christmas lights display last year. A member of Peterhead & Buchan Tourism Initiative, Cath is also Chair of Christians Together in Peterhead and is Co-ordinator of World Day of Prayer in the North-east.

Commenting, Cllr Stephen Smith said:

“It is very difficult to have to choose just two people to go forward to the Provost’s annual reception to recognise volunteers for the work that they do in their communities.

“In John and Cath however, Peterhead has two individuals from very different spheres of volunteering who do an excellent job in their chosen fields and contribute much to the local community.”

Post a Comment

Article Archive (click on down arrow)

The editors of this web site do not gather,
use or retain any cookie data.
fios ZS is a name registered in Scotland for Stewart Stevenson
© 2008-2024
Scottish National Party

Contact admin @
for permission to use material from here
Promoted by Duncan Gill on behalf of Aberdeenshire SNP, c/o The SNP, 3 Jackson’s Entry, Edinburgh, EH8 8PJ

There is no cost to the public purse arising from the preparation and publishing of this web site which is hosted without charge by

  © Blogger template Werd by 2009

Back to TOP