SNP Announce Candidates For Peterhead South & Cruden Ward

>> 23 March 2012

The Scottish National Party has announced the two candidates it will be fielding in the Peterhead South & Cruden ward of Aberdeenshire Council.

Sitting councillors Stuart Pratt and Stephen Smith have been unanimously reselected by SNP members within the Ward.

Peterhead South & Cruden comprises that part of Peterhead south of a line roughly along the middle of West Road/Meethill Road/Kinmundy Road as well as the villages of Boddam, Longhaven, Cruden Bay and Hatton. It elects three councillors and the SNP are fielding two candidates in this ward.

Cllr Stuart Pratt said:

“I have been privileged to represent the Dales area of Peterhead for the past 20 years and, since the last election, Clerkhill, Towerhill and the villages.

“At this election, we have the opportunity to replace the current tired Liberal Democrat led administration which has run out of steam with a new SNP administration which will bring fresh thinking to issues like parking charges, how we help our town centres survive and thrive, and how we make decision-making more local and more accountable.

“We are now facing the worst economic crisis many of us can remember and it is vital at this time we have a strong team working together in the council alongside the Scottish Government so that we continue to retain local services while letting people keep more of their own money, as happens with the council tax freeze.”

Commenting on his selection, Stephen Smith, who was elected for the first time in 2007 said:

“In spite of being politically active for many years, I think it’s fair to say that until I was elected in 2007, I didn’t realise the workload that is expected of a councillor. I’ve held over 70 surgeries and dealt with a huge number of individual cases for constituents through surgeries, letters, e-mails, phone calls and personal contact. You can’t achieve success 100% of the time but I try my best and constituents have been very kind when I’ve managed to get a result for them.

“I’m honoured to be chosen again by party members living in Peterhead, Boddam, and Cruden to stand again for election. If re-elected, I will continue to do my best for the area and for my local community.”

Stuart Pratt was first elected to the former Banff & Buchan District Council in 1988 when he defeated the Liberal Democrats’ Sam Coull in Meethill-Glendaveny. He was elected to Aberdeenshire Council in 1995 and again in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

Stuart is Convener of the North Aberdeenshire Licensing Board and is currently Chairman of Aberdeenshire Council’s Buchan Area Committee. In his spare time, Stuart is also Session Clerk at his local parish church in New Pitsligo.
Stephen Smith is 41, lives in Cruden Bay and worked for the Clydesdale Bank in Peterhead, Cruden Bay and Hatton after leaving Peterhead Academy. He was elected to Aberdeenshire Council in 2007.

Stephen was a member of Cruden Community Council in the 1990s and has been treasurer and committee member of Longhaven Hall Association for 20 years. He was also involved in the successful campaign to save Longhaven School in 2005.

Post a Comment

Article Archive (click on down arrow)

The editors of this web site do not gather,
use or retain any cookie data.
fios ZS is a name registered in Scotland for Stewart Stevenson
© 2008-2023
Scottish National Party

Contact admin @
for permission to use material from here
Promoted by Duncan Gill on behalf of Aberdeenshire SNP, c/o The SNP, 3 Jackson’s Entry, Edinburgh, EH8 8PJ

There is no cost to the public purse arising from the preparation and publishing of this web site which is hosted without charge by

  © Blogger template Werd by 2009

Back to TOP