Provost Hosts Inspiring Aberdeenshire Awards

>> 21 June 2016

The Inspiring Aberdeenshire awards ceremony organised by Aberdeenshire Council took place at Haddo House near Ellon on Friday to celebrate the work of people in the area who support their communities.

The annual event is in its fourth year and recognises the achievements of residents and staff and is attended by councillors, officers and volunteers with local performers also taking to the stage.

The winners, which were selected from over 160 nominations, include people who provided community information and support during flooding in the area at the start of the year and a pupil who raised thousands of pounds for a cancer charity inspired by his brother who is undergoing treatment.

Ethan Turnbull, a pupil at Mackie Academy in Stonehaven who was awarded the Pupil Voice award, has raised over £10,000 for Clic Sargent, as his little brother is undergoing cancer treatment.

Shelley Milne collected the Outstanding Leader award after setting up and maintaining Hope Floats Deeside, a community action Facebook page of great assistance during flooding that affected most of Aberdeenshire at the end of December 2015 and beginning of 2016.

The Ballater Charitable Chiels won the ‘Best of Marr’ award for the charitable work the group does in the area and also the help members of the group provided to people to recover from the flooding.

The finalists of the new Doric Award, open specifically for people promoting and celebrating the local language, were also honoured with Inverallochy School taking the top spot.

Commenting on the evening, Provost of Aberdeenshire Hamish Vernal said:

“The theme for the awards is butterflies and the winners tonight are really flying high in recognition of the support they have given their communities, family and friends.

“We’ve all been inspired by the stories we’ve heard of kind-hearted people who work tirelessly to support others, from young people raising money for causes close to their hearts to those who helped communities during the floods in Aberdeenshire in December and January – all of the winners make Aberdeenshire the great place it is.”

Council Co-Leader Councillor Richard Thomson, who presented the Young Leader award, said:

“Inspiring Aberdeenshire gives us the chance to celebrate the groups and individuals who have gone out of their way to help others and it was a hard task choosing winners as everyone who was nominated deserves a trophy.”

Council Co-Leader, Councillor Martin Kitts-Hayes, added:

“The stories of inspirational people in Aberdeenshire never cease to amaze me. When I hear of the people winning this year who have worked to help communities recover from flooding, who have kept traditions alive, raised money for charity and supported others it shines a light on Aberdeenshire.”

Post a Comment

Article Archive (click on down arrow)

The editors of this web site do not gather,
use or retain any cookie data.
fios ZS is a name registered in Scotland for Stewart Stevenson
© 2008-2024
Scottish National Party

Contact admin @
for permission to use material from here
Promoted by Duncan Gill on behalf of Aberdeenshire SNP, c/o The SNP, 3 Jackson’s Entry, Edinburgh, EH8 8PJ

There is no cost to the public purse arising from the preparation and publishing of this web site which is hosted without charge by

  © Blogger template Werd by 2009

Back to TOP